Election Results 2013-2016

MIA Election Results for 2013-2016

1) The MIA Election and Compliance Commission (ECC) met on November 17, 2013. The objective of the meeting was to review the nominations submitted for election to the MIA Executive Council.

A review of the nominations revealed that there were a total of seven nominations submitted. There was one nomination for each vacant position. The nominees were reviewed to ensure they met the criteria as outlined in the MIA Constitution.

The ECC has determined that since all of the positions are uncontested there will be no need for an election. All of the candidates will be considered to have been elected to their respective positions by acclamation. Their terms will begin immediately following the annual general meeting on November 24, 2013.

The new MIA Executive Council will be as follows:

President – Br. Idris Elbakri
Vice President 1 – Br. Abdul Aziz Mian
Vice President 2 – Br. Salman Qureshi
Secretary – Sr. Ferdose Sheikheldin
Treasurer – Br. Eid Mahmudov
Member – Br. Khaled Al-Taweel
Member – Sr. Deema Syed

The term of the new EC is 3 years and shall start in January 2014

Other items:

2) The ECC Chairperson position held by Ehab El-Salakawy was filled by Aziz Sibaii in the summer of 2013 after Br Ehab departed for a one year leave. This will need to be ratified by the general membership on November 24, 2013. It is a total term of three years with two years remaining.

3) The one year term of sister Nusraat Masood on the ECC will end and a replacement will be elected on November 24, 2013.